Homeschooling 2013-2014

A peek into our homeschool year:

LW 7th grade – Challenge A at Classical Conversations. LW is drawing the world free-hand from memory, labeling all countries and capitals, as well as many geographic features; reading 10 “classic” books and writing a paper for each one; reading 2 apologetics books and learning how to defend her faith; writing a science paper each week about covering differing topics in the plant and animal world; learning pre-Algebra; oh, and learning Latin. This is her fourth week, and she is enjoying it. Lots of work and very time-consuming, but she is a bright girl and is doing well!

LV 4th grade – Classical Conversations Foundations & Essentials, Singapore math 5A, Pathway readers, Spelling Power (though I’m not sure how necessary it is when he tests into the 8th grade at age 9), My Father’s World 1850-Modern, and Latina Christiana (thought I’d start him a little early and hopefully give him a little bit of an edge when he gets to Challenge).

LM 2nd grade – My Father’s World 1850-Modern, All About Spelling Level 2, Singapore 1B, and Explode the Code, Primary Language Lessons. She is a school-phenom, gets all her work done at the speed of light!

LD Kindergarten – I can tell he’s going to be another LV. He’s starting to sound out words already. Just picking it up so quickly. Also doing Life of Fred Book A (the jury is still out on that one), and Teach Your Child to Read in 100 Easy Lessons (my favorite learn-to-read guide!).

LB PreK 3 – Heart of Dakota Little Hands to Heaven. Can I tell you that I LOVE this program? I really LOVE it. I love the alphabet poems, the dramatic play, the Bible, devotions and Singing Bible. I LOVE whole thing. Wish I would have found this for my other children when they were in preschool.

LC – hanging out and nursing 101. Seems pretty good at it so far!

New Picture (13)New Picture (12)  New Picture (11) New Picture (10) New Picture (8) New Picture (15) New Picture (14) New Picture (9)

3 thoughts on “Homeschooling 2013-2014

  1. Hi! I’m curious if you would help me as I think about potentially doing Classical Conversations along with Heart of Dakota. I’ve only just heard about CC and have done HOD for two years now (and love it). What are your thoughts? Do you think it would work well together or should I just stick to what I know and love and what works? Thanks in advance. 🙂

    • CC is a fabulous program. I think it would work well with HOD as long as you don’t try to make the time frames match up. Do HOD wherever you are in the program, and then add the CC memory work for 15 or 20 minutes in the morning. The memory work from CC will be a preview or a review depending on where you are in the HOD cycle.

    • We continue to do My Father’s World while doing Classical Conversations. We do CC memory work for 15-20 minutes in the morning. (And we do CC Essentials (English grammar and IEW writing) for an hour or so a day with kids grade 4 and up.) I have found that CC enhances what I am doing with MFW and makes it “stick” so much better than when we just did MFW alone. I think it would work great with HOD, too.

Leave a Reply

