A little perspective

Like the food critic in Ratatouille, I am looking for a little perspective. I need help balancing the many roles in my life: mother, wife, teacher, director, sister, friend.

I want to play peek-a-boo and make faces and sit in the rocking chair together. I want to use crayons and read board books and do puzzles. I want to play swords and make up super powers. I want to have tea parties and write in a diary. I want to go on dates and stay up late having deep conversations.

I have to do laundry and I have to do dishes. I have to pick up the house and I have to mop the floors. I have to pay bills and call creditors. I have to call insurance companies and balance checkbooks. I have to give math lessons and read history books. I have to compare prices and enter data.

I continually put more weight on the have-to side than the want-to side. And I regret it. As a friend told me recently, I can start today having the family Jesus always intended. But it’s elusive and deadlines loom.

Do you have any perspective for me?

2 thoughts on “A little perspective

  1. Ummmm- I sit on the couch and hold the baby. Then I get up and scream at the other children. School is almost a piece of fiction at this point and dates consists of take out on the bed while watching a past season tv show. I know it will all get a rhythm but for now, this is life. Nursing and holding- this is the epitome of my life as a mother. It isn’t a fun perspective, but it is mine 🙂

    • I just can’t seem to do that. Instead, the epitome of my life lately is me sitting at the computer trying to get stuff done. I could type a bunch of negative nay-sayer never never never stuff, but instead I’ll choose to hold onto the positive fact that things will be better tomorrow and I can choose to do things differently. 🙂

Leave a Reply

