Henoch-Schonlein Purpura Part 1

I wanted to give everyone a slightly longer update on LD, and also put this info into my blog for any other parents whose children are suffering with HSP right now. It can be hard to find out information because HSP is a rare disorder. And the information that’s out there can be scary and confusing.

First off, here is a very brief description of HSP for anyone who doesn’t really understand what LD is going through. As it states, abdominal pain and joint pain are just a part of the disease, and there really isn’t any treatment available except for Tylenol and, in some cases, steroids.

Here is the history of what we experienced with LD. On October 23-24 (Tuesday & Wednesday), LD had a fever. 4-year-olds get high fevers so I didn’t think much of it. On Thursday, he didn’t have a fever but was “out of it,” so he stayed home from CC with my in-laws. Thursday night he was complaining that his butt hurt. I couldn’t remember the last time he’d had a bowel movement, so I thought maybe he was constipated. I gave him some Tylenol and then we prayed together and I asked Jesus to heal him and take away all his pain so that he wouldn’t have any in the morning. Then I looked at him and asked him how he was doing. He said, “It still hurts now but I won’t hurt any more tomorrow because you prayed about it.” Talk about faith like a child.

On Friday, he broke out in a rash all over his legs. My daughter had had roseola before, so I thought maybe that was it. But his rash didn’t really look like any rash I had ever seen before. It wasn’t itchy, but I called my doctor. Unfortunately, a hurricane had come in that day, and his office was closed. I figured we’d wait until Saturday to see what was going on.

Well, as Friday night approached, LD started to complain about his feet hurting. He was crying that he couldn’t walk. I started getting really worried so I decided to take him to the urgent care. It was 6 p.m. or so that we got there.

They had him pee in a cup and looked in his mouth and ears. The Dr. said his throat was bright red and inflamed. LD had never once complained that his throat hurt. The Dr. did a strep test and it came back positive. He diagnosed LD with strep throat and scarlet fever. He told me that scarlet fever can cause the rash and the joint pain. He told me if any other kids came down with a sore throat to call the doctor right away and get them on antibiotics. He also urged me to get on them myself as I had had a sore throat earlier in the week and being 5 1/2 months pregnant, I should make sure to get treated.

Leave a Reply

