Opinionated

So, I want to start out this blog post with a question. I think it’s fitting for election year, but it’s valid anytime. Here goes… If you hold an opinion but you don’t share it with anyone, does it really matter what your opinion is?

I know some of us avoid talking about religion and politics with others because we know those around us have different opinions and we don’t want to “get into it.” But for us to feel that way, we must have “gotten into it” before and realized it wasn’t worth it.

But do you think it’s valid to never share an opinion? How about if you only share it with your spouse but never with anyone else? You’d have to say a lot of “I don’t knows” and “well, hmmm…,” wouldn’t you? Because everything we say or do expresses an opinion about something or somebody, don’t you think?

I have a lot of opinionated friends. (You know who you are!) And I’m an opinionated woman. MM and I like to talk and share our opinions and tell each other what we’ve learned. We sharpen each other, hold each other accountable, force each other to grow and stretch. My best friends do the same things.

I guess what I want to know is what is your opinion about opinions? And about opinionated people? When is the right time to abstain from sharing your opinion? Should you ever hold your tongue indefinitely and from anyone and everyone? That’s right – I want your opinion!

13 thoughts on “Opinionated

  1. I want to say that I have No opinion…but threat is an outright lie at any point. I have an opinion about everything and I know that those who love me value that I can e trusted to give them an honest analysis.

    Now, for those who don’t love me, maybe those who just know me, they are probably not as enthusiastic. I however, enjoy knowing the opinions of others, even when they are wrong. Wishy washy fence sitters just aggravate me. Passion is imperative to life. Otherwise, it’s all dull.

  2. I think scripture gives us some advice about expressing opinions…i.e. Answer a fool in his folly and you become like him…and then scripture also states…. answer a fool according to his folly, or he will be wise in his own eyes.
    I guess it depends on the situation. I know that different people that I am trying to share the gospel with I tend to hold my tongue because I don’t want an issue to stand in the way of sharing Gods love with anyone who is lost. I think Jesus avoided getting involved in the politics of His time, because that was not his purpose here on Earth.
    I am a very opinionated person, I think God is trying to teach me that people are more important than issues.

    • Also, I’m not sure Jesus was not involved in the politics of his time. Israel was a theocracy overseen by the Pharisees and Saducees. (And I know kind of a commonwealth too as the Romans oversaw them.) He definitely didn’t hesitate to get in the middle of them.

      • I think you may be right in some ways.
        The religious leaders were also the local politicians.
        But, Jesus didn’t come to build an earthly kingdom. The time the religious leaders tried to trick Jesus with the coin and Jesus said… render unto Caesar what is Caesars and render unto God what is Gods…makes me think He didn’t intend to get wrapped up in politics.

        I am a Ron Paul fan and once he said, the laws in our country reflect the morals of the people who live here. So I think we can’t use the government to change the people who live here. Our country is filled with immoral people, who are hurt, broken, confused and desperately need the love of God to heal them. Just like the people Jesus came to save in the Bible the prostitute, the tax collectors or closer to our current state the abortionist, the homosexuals….etc…
        See I told you I was opinionated ๐Ÿ™‚

      • My opinion about that is only that Jesus never declared a sin to be “right.” He called a sin a sin, whether it was committed by a Pharisee or an adulterous woman. I don’t have a standard of morals (unlike the humanists who have written a list of agreed-upon morals for humanity). God has a stand of morals. And when our country’s laws change the morals that He has set in place for humanity, then I think we have problems. And if I as a Christian support what is definitely contrary to God’s standard (I know there is a lot of gray area and that is what people like to dwell on but there really are some definitive black and white issues), then I am calling sin “right.” And that I can’t in good conscience do, even when it is unpopular.

      • I agree with everyone…it’s so nice to discuss topics with Christians, it so much less stressful! My pastor always says you need to know the bad news before you can accept the good news. So I do think we need to speak the truth, the hard part is the in love part. Jesus was so much more generous with grace than I am. I think many people are alienated from Christianity based on feeling judged and I hate that. I became a Christian because the people who presented the Gospel loved me and made me feel accepted despite my sin. It’s His kindness that leads us to repentance.

  3. 2timothy 3 says it great! 23 Donโ€™t have anything to do with foolish and stupid arguments, because you know they produce quarrels. 24 And the Lordโ€™s servant must not be quarrelsome but must be kind to everyone, able to teach, not resentful. 25 Opponents must be gently instructed, in the hope that God will grant them repentance leading them to a knowledge of the truth, 26 and that they will come to their senses and escape from the trap of the devil, who has taken them captive to do his will.

    Yes, we absolutely are supposed to share the truth, but with love and gentleness. I read about Isaac Newton the other day and he gave up sharing his math theorems. Because he was so tired of defending them. ” I see that a man must either resolve to it out nothing new or to become a slave to defend it”. It is said that because Newton decided not to publish any more of his works that England’s mathematical progress was slowed by a hundred years since they were only found after his death. So I think one has to decide if they are up for the angst and knots in your stomach that defending the faith inevitably will bring!

  4. i think it is important to share your opinion. I don’t think you should judge people and call it an opinion as people seem inclined to do nowadays but – how can you know when you opening up and sharing your opinion is the one that will help a person down the path they belong on… we can’t and don’t and so must risk it. I think it is important to be strong enough to share an opinion even if it means that you yourself are judged (perhaps by those afraid to have or state their opinion.) as I have gotten older I have found it is important for me to put myself out there even if it means that I will lose friends rather than not holding true to my beliefs.

    ps, I respect you so much because you do share your opinions ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

