It’s been that kinda week

You know, sick baby. Close family members getting on your nerves. 3 1/2-year-old deciding to start the terrible 3’s with a vengeance. 5-year-old disappearing during a walk because she wanted to “beat you home.” Close family members getting on your nerves.

Sometimes I just want to tell off those family members, but the closest thing I can muster is the quote from the Wizard of Oz. “[You don’t] have the power to run the rest of us. For [fifteen] years, I’ve been dying to tell you what I thought of you! And now… well, being a Christian woman, I can’t say it!”

SPOILER WARNING – serious sarcasm below.

At least it’s not like I have anything extra on my plate right now. Or an ever-present illness that is made worse by stress.

It’s feelings like these that make me happy to know God is faithful even when I am not. But no, I don’t intend to surrender to these feelings and wallow in misery. I intend to accomplish what I can with joy. I will cling to the source of joy and peace and let the waves roll over me, knowing I am safe in His arms. And I will see myself as His creation and His workmanship, and be joyful with the Creator.

If it’s been that kinda week for you as well, I hope you choose joy also.

Leave a Reply

