Surrender

I love this verse (Trust in the Lord with all your heart. Lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him and He will make your paths straight.), but you have to admit that “leaning not” on your own understanding is hard. It requires complete surrender on our part. But I’m learning that complete surrender is the only way to find real peace and joy.

Surrender is difficult, but not impossible. Thankfully, the Lord knew we… I… would struggle daily with this which is one reason why He left us His Spirit. It is only through the Spirit’s power that I am ever able to surrender anything. And the closer the *thing* is held, the harder it is to surrender.

Anxiety comes quickly to me when I am unable or refuse to surrender something. But it is quickly replaced by peace when I do. Joy is elusive when worry is present, but it is found in abundance when surrender occurs. I choose to do the difficult thing and surrender so that I can reap peace and joy. I pray that you will also choose to surrender: It is worth it!

Leave a Reply

